Can you take the permit test in Spanish? Languages offered by state
Reviewed by Chad HenryAfter 25 years of teaching driver education
Short answer: in most big states, yes. Every state that publishes a list of knowledge-test languages on its official site includes Spanish, and several offer 20 to 40 languages. The clear exception is Florida, where all driver license knowledge and skills exams have been given only in English since February 6, 2026; Texas offers the test in English and Spanish only. Interpreter rules vary more: some states let you bring your own, some arrange one for you, some ban them when the test already exists in your language, and many do not say.
How we checked
This covers the 15 most populous states, using each licensing agency's own testing or language page, or its official driver manual. Where a site does not answer a question, the table says "not stated on the official site" rather than guessing. Several agency sites block requests from outside the United States or from automated tools, so some pages were read from a US server, Arizona's from the Wayback Machine's March 2026 copy of the official MVD page, and Illinois's from the 2025 Rules of the Road, because the Secretary of State website refused every request. Florida's and Virginia's pages also blocked us, so we used the Florida Senate's bill analysis (which cites the FLHSMV announcement) and the Virginia Driver's Manual.
Languages by state
| State | Languages listed | Interpreter allowed? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| California | "More than 40 languages" (no list on the page) | Not stated on the official site. DMV provides interpreters at no cost for office visits; the page does not say whether one may be used during the test | CA DMV |
| Texas | English or Spanish only; you must be able to understand road signs written in English. A Spanish driving (road) test depends on a bilingual specialist being available | No. You may bring someone to translate, but only before and after the test; translators are not allowed to help during the knowledge or driving test | Texas DPS |
| Florida | English only for all knowledge and skills exams, beginning February 6, 2026 | Not stated in the source we could read | Florida Senate analysis citing FLHSMV |
| New York | 20: English, Albanian, Arabic, Bengali, Bosnian, Chinese, French, Greek, Haitian Creole, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Nepali, Polish, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Urdu, Yiddish | Not stated on the official site | NY DMV |
| Pennsylvania | 30 listed, including Spanish, Arabic, Mandarin, Russian, Vietnamese, Urdu; written and audio, on request | Not stated on the official site | PennDOT |
| Illinois | Not stated in the 2025 Rules of the Road, which only says oral examinations for the written test can be requested in person, Monday through Thursday; the Secretary of State website refused our requests, so we could not read its language list | Not stated for spoken languages; interpreter service is offered for applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing, requested in advance | Illinois Rules of the Road 2025 |
| Ohio | ASL, Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Haitian Creole, Japanese, Russian, Somali, Spanish | Yes. You may use your own interpreter for any other language, by appointment at a Driver Exam Station | Ohio Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws |
| Georgia | 26, including Spanish, Arabic, Chinese, Haitian Creole, Vietnamese, Urdu; road skills test in English only | Not stated on the official site for spoken languages; oral test for reading disabilities | Georgia DDS |
| North Carolina | "Different languages" (no list on the page); oral tests on request | Interpreters can be requested for a DMV transaction; the page does not say whether they may be used during the test | NCDMV |
| Michigan | "English and a number of foreign languages," audio and written (no list on the page) | Yes. The manual says foreign language interpreters may be used on all written tests except CDL tests | Michigan SOS |
| New Jersey | 13: English, Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), French, Spanish, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Japanese, Hindi, Albanian, Turkish; oral in English and Spanish | Yes, if the test is not in your native language. MVC arranges and pays for the interpreter; expect a 4 to 6 week wait | NJ MVC |
| Virginia | "Many different languages" plus ASL and an audio version (manual; the DMV page would not load) | No, for languages the exam is already offered in | Virginia Driver's Manual |
| Washington | 12: English, Spanish, Traditional Chinese, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese, Japanese, Arabic, Simplified Chinese, Punjabi, Tagalog, Ukrainian | Not stated on the official site | Washington DOL |
| Arizona | 11: English, German, Vietnamese, Mandarin, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Italian, French, Tagalog, Korean; audio version in offices | Not stated on the official site; a verbal test may be considered if your language is not offered | Arizona MVD |
| Massachusetts | 37, including Spanish, Portuguese, Haitian Creole, Cape Verdean Creole, Vietnamese, Mandarin, ASL | Foreign-language oral exam available through RMV Interpreter Services; ASL interpreters on request | Massachusetts RMV |
Language lists change. Pennsylvania's older manual listed 18 languages and its current page lists 30, while Florida dropped every non-English version this year. Check the linked page before your appointment.
What "interpreter allowed" really means
Florida's change is recent. The Florida Senate's analysis of SB 1300 (February 10, 2026) states that beginning February 6, 2026, all driver license knowledge and skills exams are administered exclusively in English, citing a January 30, 2026 FLHSMV announcement. FLHSMV's own page blocked our requests, so we could not read its wording on interpreters. If you studied in Spanish or Haitian Creole, plan on an English test.
The rules point in different directions. Texas says you may bring someone to translate, but only to help you communicate with the specialist before and after the test, never during it. Ohio lets you bring your own interpreter, but only at a Driver Exam Station and by appointment. New Jersey books a contracted interpreter for you and pays the fee, with appointments typically four to six weeks out; the 2026 manual adds that you must first attempt the test in an offered language. Virginia takes the opposite view: because the exam already exists in many languages, translators may not be used for a test in an offered language.
Commercial tests are stricter. Texas gives the CDL knowledge test in English only and bars interpreters from the CDL skills test; Michigan's manual carves CDL knowledge tests out of its interpreter rule. Do not assume a car-permit rule applies to a CDL permit.
Signs stay in English. Georgia's 2023-2024 manual says all drivers must show they can read simple English as used on highway signs, and the DDS site still gives the road skills test in English only. Expect every state to test you on signs written in English.
Audio and oral tests
If reading is the obstacle rather than the language, several states offer a spoken version:
- Pennsylvania gives the test in written and audio format in all 30 languages, on request.
- Ohio offers an audio test and a printed paper test on request at a Driver Exam Station.
- Michigan offers audio and written formats, online and in offices.
- New Jersey gives oral tests in English and Spanish; the manual says headphones are supplied if you cannot read in any language.
- Arizona has an audio version in offices and may allow a verbal test if you read poorly, failed before, or read a language the written test is not offered in.
- North Carolina and Georgia offer oral tests on request, Georgia's for reading disabilities.
- Massachusetts needs an email to RMV Interpreter Services for a foreign-language oral exam, and documentation for a disability-based one.
- Virginia says an audio version is available.
Studying when English is your second language
Use the official handbook in your language where the state publishes one. California's DMV posts its handbook as a PDF in English, Armenian, Chinese, Hindi, Punjabi, Russian, Spanish and Vietnamese, plus an ASL video. Georgia DDS has a page for manuals in other languages, Michigan lists translated resources in 19 languages besides English, and Washington DOL links a Spanish practice test next to its English one.
Then switch to English for practice. Our practice tests and study sheets are English-only, and so are the signs on the road and on the test screen. Working through questions in English, even if you plan to test in Spanish, gets you used to sign vocabulary and the way questions are worded. Start with road signs, since they are the same in every state.
- Confirm the language is offered where you plan to test. Washington DOL tells applicants to check with their driver training school first.
- Ask early. New Jersey quotes four to six weeks for an interpreter, and Massachusetts needs an email before scheduling a foreign-language oral exam.
- Bring the same documents you would need for an English test. The language option changes the screen, not the identity rules.
Sources
- California DMV: AB 60 Driver's Licenses (knowledge test in more than 40 languages)
- California DMV: Interpreter Services
- California DMV: Driver's Handbooks
- Florida Senate: SB 1300 Bill Analysis, February 10, 2026 (cites FLHSMV English-only announcement)
- Texas DPS: Testing in Other Languages
- Illinois Secretary of State: Rules of the Road 2025
- New York DMV: Prepare For and Take Your Permit Test
- PennDOT: Pennsylvania Driver's Manual, Chapter 1: Testing
- Ohio Department of Public Safety: Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws, Section 1
- Georgia DDS: List of Languages
- Georgia DDS: Test and Exams Information
- Georgia DDS: View Manuals in Other Languages
- Georgia DDS Drivers Manual 2023-2024
- NCDMV: Driver License Tests
- NCDMV: Request Interpreter Services
- Michigan SOS: New drivers (18 and older)
- Michigan SOS: Language services
- Michigan SOS: What Every Driver Must Know (October 2025), PDF
- NJ MVC: Knowledge Test
- Virginia DMV: Virginia Driver's Manual
- Washington DOL: Do I need to take a test?
- Arizona MVD: Permit Test (at Home or in an Office)
- Massachusetts RMV: Apply for a passenger (Class D) learner's permit